How to scrub the names and accounts of certain users from a repo using LFS?

I maintain a repository in a private group that I wish to make public, but some of the contributors to it don’t want their names and GitLab accounts to be publicly visible on it, so I want to scrub them before opening. As far as I’ve been able to determine, the best way to do that is copying the repo, using git-filter-repo to edit the history, then pushing to a new bare repo. That wouldn’t copy over the Issues and Merge Requests and so on, but the history of commits would be there, and that’s the most important thing to me.

However, the repository has 21GB of files stored in LFS, and every method I’ve found to try to push to a new repo invariably reuploads all of the files in LFS, even if the target repo is within the same group as the origin repo.

Is there a way to push without reuploading? Alternatively, is there some other way to scrub someone’s involvement from a GitLab project?