I noticed some puzzling behavior when using the GitLab Merge Request feature. I created a merge request to merge feature into develop. The feature branch lacks some of the recent commits made to develop. I was under the impresssion that develop would gain the code from feature, while feature would be left unmodified.
What I noticed after merging is that in addition to the resulting merge commit titled “merge feature into develop”, the process also created an additional merge commit titled “merge develop into feature”. Now both feature and develop are identical which is not what I was expecting. The extra commit appears in the completed merge request page in the “discussion” tab.
I want Feature to remain as it was instead of being forcefully synced with develop. What is the source of this additional commit and can it be disabled in GitLab?