Remove fork relationship

When I`m trying to do “Remove fork relationship” I get a message that “This action can lead to data loss”. What is that mean ? What is the data? This action could damage my repo ?

Hi @alebedev7,

The data lost is the data regarding the fork relationship.

If you intend to make a merge request or update to the original project which you’ve forked, you should not remove the fork relationship.

Otherwise, the fork relationship data is not necessary.

Best Regards,
Greg M

Thanks @myersg86 for the clarification. I found the description very vague and was intrigued what data loss was meant myself