Strange SSO message from Gitlab.com remote on git push

Just got this strange message about SSO from the Gitlab.com remote when I pushed a new commit to my Gitlab.com personal repo, and it happens for all my Gitlab.com repos. (started at 7:36 PM EST on Oct 26)

Can someone at Gitlab explain this?
I’m using SSH keys to authenticate, and my Gitlab account is registered to my gmail account. (also I don’t work for <organization name redacted for privacy>)

$ git push
Enumerating objects: 15, done.
Counting objects: 100% (15/15), done.
Delta compression using up to 4 threads
Compressing objects: 100% (8/8), done.
Writing objects: 100% (8/8), 900 bytes | 900.00 KiB/s, done.
Total 8 (delta 5), reused 0 (delta 0)
remote:
remote: ========================================================================
remote:
remote:   **Notice:** By authenticating via SSO with an account tied
remote:   to an Enterprise e-mail address, it is understood that this account
remote:     is an Enterprise User. To ensure no loss of personal content, an
remote:     Individual User should create a separate account under their own
remote:    personal email address, not tied to the Enterprise email domain or
remote:   name-space. Please contact email@domain.com with any questions.
remote:
remote: ========================================================================

Same here, others have reported the same.

Got the same message 10 minutes ago. How does Gitlab know if you are a x customer? Find this very disturbing.

So it’s apparently been fix, now let’s see if we get an explanation.

I reported it via their ticket system, no idea how long they respond.

I suspect the problem is somebody at customer with an enterprise gitlab account has set up a push hook for their site but somehow a bug in gitlab has propagated it to everybody, or gitlab has broken their SSH tokens and we’ll all probably get asked to renew our tokens…

I’m not using SSO either, I don’t think. Well, I might. I’m using SSH token.

either that, or gitlab sso has been hijacked and somebody is filtering all our data :wink:

Earlier today, a banner intended for a subset of users was enabled on GitLab.com. Due to a bug, this banner was displayed to anyone who pushed code through the command line to GitLab.com. The issue was quickly resolved and the banner was removed.

The banner message was cosmetic only, published by GitLab, limited to the Git push and did not affect or share any repository or user data.

Note: some of the contents of this post were edited to protect the privacy of GitLab’s users.